Marijuana Laws in South Carolina
The possession and distribution of marijuana has been legalized in many states, but in South Carolina, such actions are still very much illegal.
So, what are the marijuana laws and punishments in South Carolina?
It is considered a misdemeanor to possess even less than one ounce of cannabis.
Punishment exposure for First Time Offenders:
1oz or less: Fine of $100 to $200 or up to 30 days in prison, misdemeanor
Over 1oz: Fine of $1000 and/or up to 6 months in prison, misdemeanor (possession of this amount creates legal presumption that it is possessed with the Intent for distribution and can result in felony charge)
Punishment for Subsequent Possession Offenses:
1oz or less: Fine of $200 to $1000 and/or up to one year in prison, misdemeanor
Over 1oz: Fine of up to $2000 and/or up to one year in prison
It is considered a felony to manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, purchase, aid, abet, possess with intent to distribute, or conspire to do any of these acts with respect to marijuana in the State of South Carolina.
Punishment: Fines can vary based on circumstances of sale.
First offense: Fine of up to $5,000 and/or up to 5 years in prison
Second offense: Fine of up to $10,000 and/or up to 10 years in prison
Third offense: Fine of up to $20,000 and/or 5 to 20 years in prison
Sales made within a half mile of a public park, playground, or school are additionally punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or a prison sentence of up to 10 years
Not only is it illegal to possess, sell, and use marijuana, it’s also illegal to advertise for sale, manufacture, sell or possess paraphernalia punishable by a fine of up to $500
The South Carolina Legislature is currently debating the issue of marijuana use for specific medical purposes.
If you or a loved one has been charged with any crime involving marijuana, contact the Skipper Law Firm LLC. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org or