With our coastal location, there are a lot of options for beachgoers in the Lowcountry. Whether you’re popping by Folly via boat or driving over the connector to get to the Isle of Palms, each beach has its own set of rules. In order to help you stay safe and out of trouble, we put together a basic list of rules for you:
No possession or consumption of alcohol allowed on beach
Dogs are not allowed on the beach from 10 am to 6 pm from May 1st to Sept 30th, all other times they must be on a leash
The possession and distribution of marijuana has been legalized in many states, but in South Carolina, such actions are still very much illegal.
So, what are the marijuana laws and punishments in South Carolina?
It is considered a misdemeanor to possess even less than one ounce of cannabis.
Punishment exposure for First Time Offenders:
1oz or less: Fine of $100 to $200 or up to 30 days in prison, misdemeanor
Over 1oz: Fine of $1000 and/or up to 6 months in prison, misdemeanor (possession of this amount creates legal presumption that it is possessed with the Intent for distribution and can result in felony charge)
Boating is one of the most popular activities in and around the Charleston area. As the warmer months approach us, boaters are gearing up for sunny days on the water. For some boaters, these outings involve alcohol, which can be dangerous and potentially lead to a Boating Under the Influence (BUI) charge.
South Carolina law prohibits operating boats or jet skis while under the influence of alcohol. Under the influence is defined as, “impairment to the extent that the person's faculties to operate are materially and appreciably impaired.” (S.C. Code Ann. § § 50-21-10, 50-21-112(A))
What are the consequences for a BUI in South Carolina?
Domestic violence is a major problem in South Carolina and across the United States. South Carolina consistently ranks in the bottom 5 in national statistics on domestic violence.
What exactly is domestic violence? Section 16-25-20 of the South Carolina Code of Laws makes it unlawful to cause physical harm or injury to a person’s own household member, or, offer or attempt to cause physical harm or injury to a person’s own household member with apparent present ability under circumstances reasonably creating fear of imminent peril.
There are four different levels of domestic violence with elevating potential punishments:
Skipper Law Firm LLC is experienced and effective in representing injured workers. It is important to have a basic understanding of the process so you can properly establish and assert your claim if you become injured within the scope of your employment.
It is imperative that you notify your supervisor as quickly as possible after you sustain an injury. The law requires this notice and insurance carriers often times attempt to use a lack of notice as a basis to contest and deny your claim. Preferably, you should make sure the supervisor makes a written record of the injury and ask for the contact information for the workers’ compensation insurance car...
M…I…P… Those three dreaded letters that no parent wants to hear. MIP stands for Minor in Possession of Alcohol.
There are multiple statutes in South Carolina that address the under-age possession/consumption of alcohol including 63-19-2440 (Minor in Possession of Beer), 63-19-2450 (Minor in Possession of Alcohol), 61-4-60 (Giving False Information to Purchase), and 56-1-515 (Altered Driver's License). These offenses are classified as criminal misdemeanors.
Although it may not seem like that big of a deal at first, the punishment for a conviction for violation of the above statutes is up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine with court costs. In addition, th...
Expunging your criminal record is imperative, even if you were never convicted of a crime. Any arrest, including those when you were not convicted, may still have a negative impact on your life. For example, if you apply for a job, your potential employer could see the arrest through a background check. This being said, keeping your record clean is extremely important.
An expungement is a Court Order signed by a Judge and sent to municipal, county, and state law enforcement agencies to destroy the record and evidence of the charge....